Inspiration for My Writing

Leo Babauta wrote a blog: 31-ways-to-find-inspiration-for-your-writing

I agree with most of these as parts of my inspiration to write.  I began writing short stories, then attempted thriller/mystery novels during the past three years. My dog Molly and I had been traveling around the US for over four years, north to south, east to west. The only states I have not been to in my seventy-one years is Alaska and Maine. Maine is a goal of mine.

The travel has given me the opportunity to meet people from around the country and a few from Europe. These experiences have provided fodder for a number of my story ideas. Especially for the locales where I lived for more than a few weeks. I also found ideas and many venues for my stories while traveling a couple of times in Europe.

 Murder on the Wine Train came to mind after I enjoyed dining and traveling on the Napa Valley Wine Train. I was influenced when I started a webpage where I shared my travel experiences with friends. Their feedback was helpful by hearing the comments and questions about my experiences.

People watching was a fun part of my travel experiences, as was reading a variety of novels and short stories in several genres. 

Another big influence came to me through my friend, K.L. Franklin and her book: ‪Random Thoughts, Snippets, and Other Things

Murder on the Wine Train is now available on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

